Buying new bike out of state with financing

I've seen several threads in hear about buying bikes out of state and avoiding sales tax. Is that still possible if you're financing?

I've gotten different answers from a few Yamaha dealers. One said no problem you'd pay the sales tax if you go to title it. Another said I'd have like 45 days to title it (so mandatory). Others had no clue. One even said I'd pay sales tax to them the dealer.

I'm an OK resident potentially buying in NY FWIW.

I'm going to try to call Yamaha directly tomorrow but figured I'd post in the meantime.
|
8/27/2017 11:47am
There is a zero percent chance that Yamaha will give you tips on ducking sales tax on a new bike.
MotoChris
8/27/2017 1:10pm
I'm in Arkansas and had the same conversation with an out of state dealer. They really couldn't answer the question. Arkansas does not require u to register and licence off road only dirt bikes as far as I know so I think I could get around sales tax. If your state requires it then you can't.
bvm111
8/27/2017 1:36pm
Here on the west coast most of the states have an agreement with each other so there is no way to duck the tax man on a new bike even when buying cash... believe me I have tried every way I can think of over the past few years.

The Shop

scooter5002
8/27/2017 2:32pm Edited Date/Time 8/27/2017 2:33pm
Seems to me, NY has an extensive reciprocity with a lot of states on sales tax, as in they report to each other, collect and remit it to the appropriate state. It may be unavoidable.
wreckitrandy
8/27/2017 2:43pm
I don't have a clue how it is in other states. In NC though, 'they' might not catch up with you right away. It might be 3 to 5 years down the road. And when they do come wanting their cut, it will include penalties and interest. They can ruin a man's groove. It ain't worth it.
harescrambled
Fantasy
1942nd
8/27/2017 2:47pm