Buy used 2 or 4 strokes

Hey there

I am looking to buy a bike in Australia. I moved to Australia 5 years ago and now it is time to get on the bike again.
I have been riding since I am 5 years old, in Brazil I still have a 2005 YZ125 and I love it. It is light and challenging.

I do have a limited budget, and I am willing to spend $3000 to $4000 on a used bike.
I have been looking around and same as we have in Brazil, 2 strokes are more expensive to buy than a second hand 4 strokes.

What I really would like to know is to maintain a bike here. How much more expensive is to maintain an 4 stroke than a 2? I know parts are more expensive and there are more parts. But is there a big difference?
Finally, I am willing to get an 4 stroke, I never had one, I would like to get on corners a little bit better, as they control are easier than 2 strokes.

Really appreciate you time and answers.
Regards
|
kb228
8/14/2019 4:57am
It depends. A new/freshly built 4 stroke has less maintenance. By the time you even touch the inside of the engine youll likely have done a piston or two on a 2 stroke. Not to mention not having to mix gas.. or mess with jetting

If theyre both used and not fresh, a 2 stroke all day long. a used high hour 4 stroke needs a lot of attention.

Also depends on how you ride too. Harder on the motor = more maintenance.

Just my opinion..
Talisker
8/14/2019 5:01am
The latest generation 4 strokes are way more reliable than two strokes ever were, so don't let the nay sayers scare you off. As a general common sense rule do the basics. Change oil and always clean your air filter. Change wearables when needed. There are good second hand bikes to be purchased with low hours. You will spot these like new gems immediately and will not have any buyers remorse.
8/14/2019 6:12pm
I only use the torque of the engine, pretty much low/mid range PRM