Being fast

jones618
Edited Date/Time 3/25/2022 6:58am
Something I've been thinking about. I know this may be random for this forum but I just wanna tell it to someone.

I use to think anyone could end up being a fast rider. Let's say atleast local pro level speed. Alot of people are right? But now I've come to believe that not everyone has the talent to go fast on a dirt bike.

I started riding at 14 yr old and never got past the local C class. I never put forth effort to get in better physical shape so that didn't help matters. I could only ride as much as my mother could afford me to ride. So once sometimes twice a week. I didn't start getting the speed to run up towards the front of the C class until I like 19 yrs old. I joined the military at 21 and picked up riding again at 23. I was somehow faster at 23 than I was before.

But I had a buddy at the track that had only been riding for 2 yrs and was winning local B class races. And even did well in some local pro classes. Only 2 yrs of riding! So maybe some people are just born with natural talent and that lack of fear they need to go fast.

But I was just sitting here thinking about it and sometimes I'm filled with regret and pity for myself that I was never really that good. The only C class race I won was because the fast guys weren't there that night. I thought I was faster than I really was. I wanted to be a part of that group of fast guys at the track ya know? I wanted my name to be known

I just watched a video of 250C limited moto at Spring a ding and thought dang those guys aren't that slow. You can tell it's C riders. But then I realized I couldn't even win a local C race. I'd get fuckin lapped at spring a ding at the amateur level! It's just insane how fast AMA pros really are

But my point is. Maybe some people just arent ever gonna be that good at motocross. It's the hardest sport in the world.
|
Titan1
3/22/2022 7:20pm