Arm pump, need help!

bencurrie17
So I started riding about 5 years ago. I started out riding awesome improving every week, the pic is from just 3 months after starting riding and I was about to move up to C class but I broke my arm. I had surgery on it and had a plate and 8 screws put in.

When I started riding again I was fine for a couple weeks and then started getting crazy arm pump, so much that I couldn't hold on after 3 laps. And for the next 4 years I stayed slow as hell because of my arm pump, I later got a yz250 and It got wayyy worse. Then my yz blew up and I hung up the boots until just recently I got the urge to ride so I'm getting another bike and I'm terrified of getting arm pump again.

It happens in both arms so it's not because of the surgery. I'm thinking it's from holding on too tight. So my question is how tight should I hold on. I don't want to feel like the bars will go wild over any bump from not holding on tight enough but I also don't want arm pump. I'm also 6'5 if that info is any helpful lol thanks in advance.

|
2/22/2017 2:16am
Everyone will give you different answers, I always found it was when I was riding to tight and not relaxed (easier said than done I know). Also technique, gripping with your knees where possible. Hydration and diet pre and during the day also play a role.
If there was a straight forward answer it wouldn't be problem
Motofinne
2/22/2017 2:29am Edited Date/Time 2/22/2017 6:07am
Technique has a lot to do with it like Andy_Greenney mentioned.

Try to ride as much as possible. Ride 20 minute motos with 70% of your max pace, slow down if you feel like you start tightening up. And take a new grip of the bar mid air if you feel like you pump up.