Anyone ever had a Calcaneous (heel) fracture?

Holeshot922
Edited Date/Time 6/16/2022 1:11pm
Hello all, I recently fractured my calcaneous (heel) bone. Doctor is making me a little concerned about my ability to "ride" and healing process. He makes it sound as if my heel may never be as strong and may have lingering issues with comfort and fit of my boots ect... Just curious if any other riders have dealt with this type of fracture and how was your healing time, time until back on the bike, are you able to still jump big stuff and take substantial impacts to your foot without and concerns or discomfort?

I know everyone is different, but so far this fracture suucks!!! I am a 35+ Vet rider if that matters......

In the meantime, I already got plans to mod out my all terrain knee scooter.

img]https://p.vitalmx.com/photos/forums/2019/07/19/361133/s1200_20190719_11…] a 35+ Vet rider if
|
cslacker
7/19/2019 10:11am
Broke mine about 6 years ago. Took a long time for the pain to go away... Maybe 6-9 months. I was actually riding on it after 4 months but mostly desert and offroad. I don't have any lingering issues from it.
Holeshot922
7/19/2019 10:19am
Niice! This really is a bummer... I just want to ride.....
Holeshot922
7/19/2019 10:31am
Did you have surgery Cslacker? Surgeon said yes I would need it at first, then told me he wants to re-xray in 2weeks and go from there. I had a CTScan done on it a few days ago.
Falcon
Fantasy
856th
7/19/2019 10:52am
A buddy of mine had that fracture and it took him a loooong time to feel better. I remember him complaining about it for years. I think he kept re-injuring it by riding, so take heed.

The Shop

PJRAUS
7/19/2019 12:31pm
Yes, I broke my right heel into 4 pieces in Feb 1995.
I was jumping a quad jump section on a sx track, jump 2, jump 2...bike spun on slick muddy dirt then grabbed at the base of the first jump, front wheel went too high to retrieve, so I bailed and landed feet first at the base of the 3rd jump.