Another Moto Van Build

john.aron
7/4/2016 3:25pm Edited Date/Time 7/9/2020 8:31am
Hey Vital Folks,

My names John Maguire and I'm a 27 year old former East Coaster currently living and riding in Boulder, CO. I've only been at this a couple years now but I truly believe this is the best sport on Earth. I came to this game pretty late but I'm doing my best to develop as quickly as possible. I've gotten by the last two years riding out of my F-150, which works well for day trips, but it just doesn't make sense for longer destinations. In addition to 3 days a week at the local tracks, I try to go to CA twice a year and TX once a year. I have a pretty flexible work schedule, and can often work remotely so it ends up being the hotels that break the budget and bring me back home. When my dad offered me the old family Corolla, which could be used as a daily driver, I pulled the trigger on the moto-van.

I've spent the last couple months researching all sorts of different builds and trying to figure out exactly what worked best. I think I have a good plan in the works but thought it would be fun to go about this build in a public forum. I'm looking for feedback and ideas. Hopefully this will be useful to anyone else looking to see what works and what doesn't.

9 to 5 I'm a full time aerospace engineer and I also own a small woodworking company. This means that there is a full wood-shop available when we eventually build out the cabinets. I'm hoping doing this in a public forum will force me to do it right and not cut corners.

Thanks for following along and I look forward to hearing feedback.