Alpinestars tech 7 v tech 10

mxracer591
Edited Date/Time 8/28/2022 9:28pm
I know this topic has been done before but looking for more insight. I’ve been running tech 7s for a few years. Never had any issues, boots are comfortable, price is great, etc. A few weeks ago I came up way short on a double. Ended up with a displaced fracture of medial malleolus of my left tibia.

As I sit here on the couch dreaming of getting back to riding, I can’t help but wonder if the tech 10 would have prevented this? Obviously I’ll never know now… but for future reference, do I shell out the extra cash for the better boot? Any personal experience or advice? Anyone with a similar injury know how long it was until they could ride again? I’m 3 weeks into crutch life today. Have an appointment Monday to check on progress.
|
sandtrack315
8/27/2022 5:52pm
Hard to say. Might have stopped it, might have transferred the force elsewhere too though. I like the rigidity of the 10s over the Fox Instinct, but I do miss the feel of the Instinct for breaking and shifting. Have not tried the 7s. Only way to know is shell out the $. If you don’t like them, eBay them.
cwel11
8/27/2022 7:00pm
mxracer591 wrote:
I know this topic has been done before but looking for more insight. I’ve been running tech 7s for a few years. Never had any issues...
I know this topic has been done before but looking for more insight. I’ve been running tech 7s for a few years. Never had any issues, boots are comfortable, price is great, etc. A few weeks ago I came up way short on a double. Ended up with a displaced fracture of medial malleolus of my left tibia.