ALTA - a question for Marc or any dealers in the know

gjbruny
2/1/2018 7:30pm
i have been saying for a few years that i was considering an Alta. after seeing the new MXR, now i am seriously considering it. i live on 600 acres and would probably have a very expensive day when i buy one because i'll have to purchase a skidsteer on the way home.... i would instantly start work on a moto and an endurocross tracks. :^)

the one thing that is holding me back is the lack of a clutch... i realize that it doesn't have multiple gears but i have grown up on ICE bikes and now in my early 40s, the clutch is just second nature to me.... in the case of the Alta, i wouldn't need it for shifting gears but for modulating power... especially under very technical conditions such as mountain single track or endurocross. not only that but when i am tired in a race and have an "oh chit" moment, the clutch is a sure fire way to arrest a whiskey throttle.

my question is what is the probability that the Alta's would ever be equipped with a clutch lever that could modulate the electronic speed control to give the feel of a mechanical clutch? something like that would add minimal weight but give much greater control and with as much power as this bike sounds like it has, i have to imagine that there will be a lot of "larry loop-out" moments if something resembling a clutch is not added.
|
StevieTimes
2/1/2018 7:37pm
I agree. I'd like to be able to cut the power with an easy to reach lever that I'm used to reaching for, should things get out of control and I'm flopping around like a rag doll.
Zoom
2/1/2018 8:29pm Edited Date/Time 2/1/2018 8:33pm
Not Marc, but I work for him. I'm a regional sales manager based in Houston. In my 7 months with the company I have not heard any discussion about a clutch option. However, that doesn't mean that Marc or the team of engineers haven't talked about it.