250f / 150 sx

plf35
Hello, I drove for several years a motocross in the trails and since 2 years I ride on the track. my 1st year I ride a YZ 250, by cons was a little too powerful, I change this year for a RMZ 250, I'm faster in 250f, cons I think for a long time to change for a 150 SX!

For those who made the change from the 250F to the SX 150, are you satisfied with your change? Will your speed on the track decrease?

The 150 SX is probably more fun to ride, for cons is it more difficult to ride?

Considering that I am a novice driver?
|
hyler199
8/3/2019 7:38am
Not much to say other than try it out. Worst thing that can happen is you sell the 150 and get another 250f.
I am a fan of 150s but to do big jumps you really have to have corner speed. If you are a Novice C/D rider then it wont make a difference.

Try the 150! If after 1 year you dont like it then sell it and buy another 250f
8/3/2019 8:15am
TSP from australia has ported and tuned an TC125 husqvarna and it puts down 46rwhp and wins flattrack races against 250f.
JohnMatrix
8/3/2019 8:47am Edited Date/Time 8/3/2019 8:49am
150 definitely takes a good bit more skill to keep speed and clear tricky obstacles. It is fast but it’s still like a small bore bike in that it’s fairly gutless off the bottom. When it comes on power it’s a little rocket ship. You have to stay in or very near the power on a 150 to ride it fast, and that can be tiring. I take my 150 out occasionally when I’m riding faster, more open tracks otherwise I default to my 250sx. I will say the 150 is a shit ton of fun on trails. In the winter months I gear it to 13/51 and it’s fun in tight single track or open fast stuff. If you get into really tight trails, like walking speed, it’s super easy to maneuver since it’s so light weight. 250f will definitely have more torque and a broader spread of power, but at the expense of weight and rotating mass. The 150 feels like a mountain bike with a motor.

The Shop

8/3/2019 11:33am