2020 YZ250F or 2021 KTM 350 SX-F

First time poster but long time lurker.

I am facing the dilemma of choosing between a 2020 YZ250F or 2021 KTM 350 SX-F. Price is more for the 350 as would be expected, but within my budget.

I am 6'4 and weigh about 250lbs geared up and I am 43. My thought is that the Yamaha would probably be a good bike to get started with. But I fear that I may outgrow it within a season and wish for more due to my weight. I am a novice c level rider. The last bike I owned was a 2008 RM250 and I have not ridden regularly for 5 or 6 years. I feel the 350 is a bike that I could live with for multiple seasons, hence it might be the better choice.

Based on my past experiences I feel either bike would require some initial investment. Lowered pegs, likely taller seat, different shock spring, maybe handlebar risers. These would be applicable for both. Possibly some revalving as well. On the other hand, my concern with the KTM would be the forks. If I find that I do not like them, that would be an additional investment to do a spring conversion. I recently rode a 2018 SXF 350 for about 2 hours and although it was setup for a guy about 30 pounds lighter, I was not in love with the suspension compared to the 2019 YZ250f I rode the weekend before.

I guess ultimately my question is, if I opted for the YZF250 would I be able to get enough out of it to make / keep it competitive for c / b class vet racing without a huge investment in cost? Without question the 350 would have more than enough for me. Just trying to determine how the YZF would stack up, and what options are available to boost the output as my skills develop. I think I feel a little more at home on the YZF but open to the KTM just the same, especially if it makes better financial sense.

I am not interested in a 450 at this stage.

Thank you all.
|
crc245
6/19/2022 4:22pm