2015 YZ250 vs. 2015 KTM 250SX

AKmotorider
8/17/2014 2:52am Edited Date/Time 1/10/2015 7:50am
The first thing I'd like to mention is that I've been a Yamaha guy since the day I started riding. All five of my machines are Yamaha's, dirt bikes as well as four-wheelers.

Early next year I am going to buy a brand new bike for the first time ever, and if I go the smoker route, I want to know what the KTM has on the YZ. If it weren't for the fact that KTM has been putting hard work into their new two-strokes every year, I'd take the YZ hands down; however, as much of a fan that I am of Yamaha, I am not oblivious to other manufacturer's effort.

From what I've heard, the KTM is lightyears ahead of the Yamaha. However, there are other factors to put into play: being a Yamaha rider, will I feel out of place (handling wise) on the most unique machine of all the brands? The KTM is better tech-wise and speed-wise, but that doesn't mean that I'll necessarily be able to adapt to it as well. That being said, what if they don't feel that different? What if I can adapt just fine? Questions, questions.

Next, comes performance and features. I'd like to know the differences.

What do you think? Can a Yamaha rider adapt to a KTM machine, and what exactly does the KTM have on the Yamaha in terms of technology? Thank you, this may really influence my decision!
|
tobz
8/17/2014 3:58am Edited Date/Time 8/17/2014 3:58am
Ktms aren't as weird and euro as they once we're, coming from a kxf, my ktm 200 was comfortable straight away. But one thing you'll notice is the fit and finish of how the ktm is out together, light years ahead of the Japanese bikes I previously owned.

Having said that I've just finished running in my new yam wr450 :D back to the dark side but it was a financial reason, I'd go back to a ktm in a heartbeat when I move back home.
Crush
8/17/2014 3:59am
HP and a steel frame, better brakes but worse suspension
tmauto769
Fantasy
1265th
8/17/2014 4:47am
tobz wrote: