Seat of the panties 2014 KTM 350SX-F Review

RobKacp
Edited Date/Time 12/20/2013 1:58pm
So RupertX inspired me to put down my thoughts on my new 2014 KTM 350 SX.

First (and probably most important) I'm a 43 year old vet rider, 185 lbs - not terribly fast or bright, but what the hell. I can ride and I like beer.

I bought the 350SX after kicking my 11 RMZ-250 to the curb when it started to randomly find neutral under acceleration and pitched me over the bars for the last time.

My son (a very wise and opinionated 50 rider) convinced me that I absolutely had to get a KTM, so I started looking and was able to buy one for right at 8100 bucks (+taxes, etc). Got her home and looking this bike over - the "fit and finish" is first class. The footpegs rock; they're much bigger than my RMZ's pegs and sharper. The airbox no-tool design is pretty sweet, but getting the filter back in place is a little bit of a struggle. Torque specs are embossed on the triple clamps. Very cool! Removing and replacing the seat is a minor PITA to get it lined up as the bolt is goes through the bottom of the rear fender and my t-handle barely fits between the seat and the rear tire. Compression clickers on the forks are finger-knobs, no screwdriver needed. Comes with MX-51s and pyramid (painful) grips. Set the sag easily enough, but I can imagine destroying the plastic?!? retaining ring with my punch pretty quickly.

I thought e-start was for wussies, but I gotta say its awesome. Nothing like kicking an RMZ a random number of times to start....click the little button and she fires right up. Takes about 5 seconds cold, no time hot. For moto-dads this is the hot ticket when your mini-pilot hits the deck on his 50. Pop the e-start and you're there in no time flat.