1 piece tuff blocks

chuckdavies
Edited Date/Time 1/27/2012 9:38am
I'm not sure if they're already out there, and may have been mentioned already (if so feel free to let me know and delete), but after seriously injuring 2 riders at the weekend and quite possibly have been life changing injuries due to a tuff block cover getting hooked up on canards bike, surely its about time to get rid of them or do something about it?

If a 1 piece tuff block wouldn't be any harder to make (just printed on logos instead of covers) or something else could mean this incident wouldn't have happened apart from canard maybe getting hooked up on the tuff block before he took off the triple at half pace.

What's your thoughts?
|
Smitch
1/23/2012 4:35am
As a professional foam contractor, I would suggest that the removable covers are necessary to clean them. The tracks are made out of 'dirt.'
ocscottie
1/23/2012 4:41am
I could of sworn we have had a discussion about this in the past...? might of had something to do with the cost or changing sponsorship....shit i dont recall, maybe someone can refresh my memory?...it is almost 5am and at this point i am having a hard time even remembering my middle name Dizzy
hellion
1/23/2012 5:20am
Someone will need to get killed first. Then the sanctioning body will act like they have some great idea and impliment one piece blocks. Really, it's a wonder we haven't had it happen already. I can't count the times I've seen guys with banners in their rear wheels. You just hope they realize it before they do go for the triple or commit to skimming the whoops. Make the sponsor buy the blocks and be responsible for replacing the 'dirty' ones.
VOODOO27
1/23/2012 5:48am
Make them full wraps with a zipper to secure them to the 'block'. They can make the bottoms have a no-slide finish and dirt colored. So, the track workers don't put them back on the edge of the track upside down or side ways, pissing the sponsors off Smile