No Garage Rebuild on a 1988 Cr 125r

Wedgehead
Edited Date/Time 6/26/2019 7:44pm
Pulled my old Honda out of storage because I decided it was time to be a responsible owner and get the bike up and running again.

Let's just say this isn't my most proud moment. Sad

I actually bought this bike brand new back in 1989 from Fay Myers in Denver, CO. This is what it looked like new. It's a stock picture but that was what she looked like before I got a hold of her.

|
Wedgehead
6/21/2019 9:22pm
Here's the side shot before I put the power washer to her. I remember putting those black sticky sheets on to protect the plastic. Guess that was a bad idea now that I am looking back.

Wedgehead
6/21/2019 9:48pm
Even after power washing I still had some nasty grease that just wouldn't come off.

Shock is removed and I want to get it re-valved. This was a lousy shock in its day but I never could afford to get it worked on years ago. Plus, I was a Novice race so I probably wouldn't have noticed if I did.

Contacted what I thought was one of the better Colorado local suspension experts and turned out I was in for a little surprise.

Wedgehead
6/21/2019 10:17pm
So I contacted Race Tech and it appears they can do it and do some hard anodizing too.