HELPPPP!!! 96 Pile Of Parts

Related:
Create New Tag

4/16/2020 1:08 PM

So let me start off with this... I have zero experience with dirt bike repair and dont know where to start. I inherited this pile of parts that was half way torn down before the previous owner croaked. I said I'd take it and would like to restore it to a working bike and had a patriotic theme in mind hence the blue frame, its patriot blue. Now I know I might get some crap because I'm a newbie and painting a honda blue but whatever. Just wondering because of the popularity of this year is it possible for a newbie to really get it in order or am I better off just selling the damn thing and getting another one? The bottom end is taken apart block is partially open but it looks like they didn't have a puller to get it all the way apart. the piston was grenaded so I have sent and recieved the top end back from US CHROME so thats all brand new back to factory spec. Only thing thats missing that i know of is ill need a new piston and head that goes on top of the top end. From the videos I've seen this bike really rips and I think it would be awesome to ride, let me know Photo
Photo
Photo

|

4/16/2020 3:42 PM

Sounds like you are at a crossroads..... do you want to dig in, finish what you started and be a respected member of your community? Or do you want to sell it, part it out and forever wonder what it would have been like to accept the challenge you were presented..... and yes, the frame needs to be Shasta white.

|

4/16/2020 4:32 PM

throw down the gauntlet my man!
Photo

|

4/16/2020 9:33 PM

I’d start with purchasing a manual. Clean all the parts and inspect the frame and cases for cracks. Take your time. Rebuild it. Everyone starts off not knowing how to work on bikes. Either as kids or adults we all start somewhere.
When your done you can be proud of your accomplishments.

|

4/16/2020 9:52 PM

Get rid of it!! I’ll buy it for $200 cuz I’ll have to repaint and buy a piston😂😂😂😏😏

|