1982 RM125Z my first restorarion

12/25/2020 8:11am Edited Date/Time 3/11/2021 7:52pm
Hey all. I had just picked up this 82 RM125 on trade for a chainsaw last week. This is my first restoration I need a few things and wondering if some of y'all are able to help me source some parts for this old machine.
When I was stripping it down, I had a hard time getting one bolt out of the suspension piece (sorry, unsure of what it is called) when I was pressing out the bolt i noticed the needles falling out of the bearings, and the other side is seized solid. So I need a new set of bearings. Is this something I'm able to source from a local bearing shop or is this something I need to have specifically made for this machine?
Also, would appreciate any tips on stripping paint from the frame and prepping for paint
All it needs is piston/rings and bore the cylinder. Head stem bearings are shot (which i sourced) and these bearings in question here.
Appreciate any and all help as I am a noob at forums and restorations, but no stranger to working on bikes.

|
sandman768
12/25/2020 12:33pm Edited Date/Time 12/25/2020 12:34pm
Press the bearings out, clean them up & visit a bearing house to see if they can match them up. Frame should be sandblasted & inspected for cracks and stripped out fittings before refinishing...post up photos!
12/25/2020 1:59pm
Yeah, I only have the foot pegs left to remove from the frame and a bit of cleaning to do . Waiting until after the holidays so I can rent a sandblast booth. Frame looks mint though, straight, no bends or cracks.
This piece is called the cushion lever and I believe I have found bearings for it as well from a Japanese retailer.

danman
3/11/2021 10:47am
I'll have to watch this one.