Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Dubya Talon EVO Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Dubya Talon EVO Wheelset”

C138_dubya
Having a spare set of aftermarket wheels is a bit of a luxury, due to the somewhat extreme prices of the top-of-the-line sets. Quite honestly, though, these were the only option I would have seriously considered, since entry-level wheelsets often seemed to be not only heavier than stock, but also quite a bit weaker. What's the point of buying a shiny new set of wheels, if they're just going to change shape when you come up short on a double? The crew at Dubya recognized that not everyone has the budget to go after the same wheels they build for the likes of JGR or Red Bull KTM. That's why they teamed up with one of the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 408 34 974 848 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 192 4801 1 370 55 21

2007 Kawasaki KX250

“KX 250 2007”

C138_fe74ba3d9b7563ad544eddaed07ead25

The Good:

Light, a lot of power, cheap to maintain.

The Bad:

Cant really say anything bad about it.

Overall Review: Really good power, rather this over my 4 stroke any day.

Fox Racing V3 Flight Helmet 2015

Vital Review

“Tested: Fox Racing V3 Helmet”

C138_fox_15_hel_v3_fli_ora
While Fox has been a longtime player in the gear market, some of their safety equipment hasn't always been as top-of-the-line as their gear. In the past few years however, Fox has taken a new approach to their product line and have committed to relaunching the safety side of the brand, which of course includes their helmet line. Part of this relaunch included taking some of the already popular existing products, such as the V3 helmet, and bumping them up a notch. Fox V3 Helmet Features: Contains Multi-Directional Impact Protection System (MIPS). Designed with a composite shell utilizing carbon fiber, kevlar, Read More »
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 408 34 974 848 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 192 4801 1 370 55 21

Leatt C-Frame Knee Braces

Vital Review

“Tested: Leatt C-Frame Knee Braces”

C138_cframe
Growing up racing, I was lucky enough to have parents that kept me in the best safety equipment possible. Because of this, I've been in knee braces since I was finally big enough to jump in to Asterisk's smallest knee brace, the Cell. Since then, I've never thought about running without them, especially after forgetting my braces one day and trying to ride without them. The downside to Asterisk's original Cell knee brace was its extreme bulk. Because of this, I'm always seeking a thinner profile brace, but without sacrificing the safety aspect. Thus my interest in Leatt's entry into the market, the C-Frame. Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 408 34 974 848 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 192 4801 1 370 55 21

Fly Racing 2015 Evolution 2.0 Spike

Vital Review

“Tested: 2015 Fly Racing Evolution 2.0 Spike Racewear”

C138_fly
Fly seems to be growing more popular with each passing year, becoming a major player in the gear market. The Idaho-based company has a flair for creating products that cater to a broad range of consumers, appealing to both the younger crowd and the ever-growing vet segment. My first contact with Fly gear was about six years ago, and I’m glad to report that their products have improved significantly over that time period. I was presented with the opportunity to test Fly Racing's Evolution 2.0 SpikeRacewear about seven months ago, as we were riding the 2015 KTM 450 SX-F for the first time. Fly Racing Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member BRZ
4709 BRZ http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/4709/avatar/c50_1_Perris_Oct22_2013_1382929979.jpg?1382929817 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/BRZ,4709/all 04/01/08 32 366 16 9

Alpinestars Tech 7 Boots

Vital Review

“Tested: Alpinestars Tech 7 Boots”

C138_tech7white
Besides a helmet, boots are considered the most important piece of safety equipment that a rider should invest in. For both of these items, there are numerous choices ranging from very cheap (less than $100 on clearance) to very expensive ($600 or more for the best-of-the-best). For many of us, such a large purchase is a dance between price, protection, and style. In an effort to provide the price-conscious shopper a quality boot that offers good protection with similar styling as its high-end brother, the Tech 10, Alplinestars offers the Tech 7 boot. Alpinestars Tech 7 Boots Features: Utilizes a molded dual-compound sole with Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member Tazao
42145 Tazao http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/42145/avatar/c50_durham_1392420798.jpg?1392419921 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/Tazao,42145/all 02/14/14 15 4 9

Motool Slacker Digital Sag Scale

Vital Review

“Tested: Motool Slacker Digital Sag Scale”

C138_motool
Article and Photos by Michael Lindsay Before my time at Vital MX, I was lucky enough to spend quite a bit of time testing suspension and learning from one of the best in the business, Ross Maeda from KYB and Enzo. One of the most standout lessons was about how important correctly setting sag is. To put it bluntly, if your sag is incorrect it can not only affect how the bike handles, but it also affects the bike's balance and how the suspension reacts. As an example, if the shock's sag is too low, it will place more weight on the shock, thus causing it to be softer. This also takes weight off the front and would Read More »
Rate review: +4 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 408 34 974 848 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 192 4801 1 370 55 21

Troy Lee Designs Air Helmet

Vital Review

“Tested: Troy Lee Designs Air Helmet”

C138_2015_troy_lee_designs_air_vega_helmet_mcss
Review by Joe Carlino // Photos by Joe Carlino and Michael Lindsay In the moto world, Troy Lee Designs is synonymous with style, whether it's their top-of-the-line gear or their smallest little products. At the top of this list is their helmet line, which is known for the SE3. However, this is not their only helmet, as they also offer a lower-priced model, the Air. I've recently been looking for a good mid-range helmet to test out, so I decided to give the Air a few months of attention to see if it lives up to TLD's excellent reputation. Troy Lee Designs Air Helmet Features: Dual-density Shock Pad System and EPS Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MX member CarlinoJoeVideo
41118 CarlinoJoeVideo http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/41118/avatar/c50_Screen_Shot_2015_09_11_at_2.58.50_PM_1442009223.jpg?1442008858 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/CarlinoJoeVideo,41118/all 11/30/13 53 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/CarlinoJoeVideo,41118/setup 46 1948 31 5

100% Racecraft Goggles

Vital Review

“Tested: 100% Racecraft Goggles”

C138_ohp_rcg_is
Review and Photos by Michael Lindsay Since I started riding as a child (about 18 years ago), it doesn't seem like goggles have changed a whole lot. However as you've probably noticed, the overall size of the goggles and their lenses have been increasing the past few years. 100%, in particular, took advantage of this change when launching as a brand. In the few years they've been around, 100%'s popularity has grown quickly. So this year, I finally grabbed a pair of their outrigger-style goggle, the Racecraft, to try them out for myself. 100% Racecraft Goggle Features: Outrigger frame design. 45mm goggle strap to improve Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 408 34 974 848 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 192 4801 1 370 55 21

Nuetech Tubliss System

Vital Review

“Tested: Nuetech Tubliss Rear Tire System”

C138_tubliss
Review and Photos by Michael Lindsay The majority of my younger life was spent on a motocross track, and part of my pre-ride check list was ensuring my tire pressure was correct. At a younger age, 12 1/2 PSI seemed to suit me just fine and I never found a reason to try anything else (probably wouldn't have noticed much back then as I didn't care about much, such as my dirty, scratched up goggles for instance). As I progressed and eventually ended up on 250Fs, I found that a tad bit lower pressure could work well with certain tires, but this would typically end with a pinched tube. Later on, I pushed more into Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 408 34 974 848 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 192 4801 1 370 55 21