Latest Product Reviews

RSS

Gaerne SG 12 BOOTS

“Good boot.”

C138_gb8_s12_is

The Good:

Very comfortable, supportive and look great.

The Bad:

Steel toe sole.

Overall Review: Overall this is a great boot. I had a two pairs of Tech10s prior to buying the SG12. The only complaint I have coming off of the molded sole Tech 10 is the steel toe tip gets caught on my shifter in certain riding positions making it kind of awkward at times. I am learning what position is causing me to this and fixing it on my end. All in all great boot so far and I do recommend them.  
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member mx510
26288 mx510 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/26288/avatar/c50_image_1424970850.jpg?1424970494 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/mx510,26288/all 02/26/11 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/mx510,26288/setup 30 1409 14 2

2017 Suzuki RM-Z250

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 Suzuki RM-Z250”

C138_s1600_rm_z250_yel_blk_l7_p
More Motocross Videos After a host of upgrades in 2016 (including engine updates, new suspension components, and a new frame), Suzuki's RM-Z250 has remained mostly the same for outside of some cosmetic changes for 2017. Based on our shootout opinions from last season, we already know the weak point of the small-bore four stroke Suzuki is centered around the overall output of the engine. But in usual Suzuki style, the handling characteristics are top-level and keep some positive light over the machine. Check out some opinions from our test rider, Chris See, as he spins some laps out at the famous Glen Helen Raceway.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 356 50 1929 466 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 335 7703 1 495 85 25

2017 Honda CRF250R

“2017 CRF250R”

C138_s1200_250r

The Good:

the motor is great and so is the frame geometry

The Bad:

The air forks are really stiff

Overall Review: great bike overall it is ready to rip and fly around the tracks

2017 KTM 250 SX-F

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 KTM 250 SX-F”

C138_s1600_ktm2017_3_of_31
With both a Factory Edition and standard production model every year, we end up spending quite a bit of time aboard the KTM 250 SX-F. Even with this, KTM still finds a few things to change with each model, constantly improving the reliability and overall ride-ability of the bike. For the 2017 production model, KTM had a few upgrades for their freshly introduced AER 48 fork. Changing the valving, along with the outer fork tubes, and damping cartridge; creating better feel, different flex characteristics, and even loosing a bit of weight in the process. To match up with the new tubing, the 250 SX-F also has a different set of triple Read More »
Rate review: -1 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 356 50 1929 466 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 335 7703 1 495 85 25

2017 Honda CRF250R

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 Honda CRF250R”

C138_s1200_250r
More Motocross Videos For years now, Honda has had arguably the most nimble bike in the 250F field, but has struggled some years with their overall power. Per Honda's view on their motocross models, they tend to lean towards easier-to-ride, over pure power to the ground. But in 2016, Honda made a host of engine changes which on paper brought it closer to the top of the class. On the track however, it's still kept the easy-to-ride mentality, which can hide the overall improvements they've actually made. With the main focus being on the 450 for 2017, the 250 hasn't received any notable changes, but it does give us a chance to take a second look at what gains Honda has made in the past few seasons.
Rate review: +3 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 356 50 1929 466 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 335 7703 1 495 85 25

Tusk Impact Wheelset

Vital Review

“Tested: Tusk Impact Wheelset”

C138_tuskwheels
A fresh set of wheels can really set a bike off, but the price can also empty your wallet quite quickly. For some, the extra money is worth it for a set that's lightweight and stronger, but for the weekend warrior that just needs a spare set it's a bit much to ask. When you're on a budget, finding a set of good (but relatively inexpensive) wheels that won't explode once you leave the ground and slam back down harshly can be an interesting task. Tusk Impact Wheelset Features: Spokes are made from 304 stainless steel. Hub forged from 6061 T-6 aluminum. Rims produced from 7050 T-6 aluminum. Rear wheel available in 18-inch and 19-inch Read More »
Rate review: +5 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 356 50 1929 466 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 335 7703 1 495 85 25

Ride Engineering Triple Clamps/with HPSD Kit

Vital Review

“Tested: Ride Engineering Triple Clamps with HPSD Kit”

C138_yzhspd
I recently ended up with a newer model YZ250, in part due to a desire for the higher-quality KYB SSS suspension they're equipped with. Even though the suspension has a great feel, the overall handling still left me a bit wanting. One particular area that I found unsettling was a startling level of headshake. This would most often occur when transitioning from being on the throttle, to braking into a corner or a braking section. How bad was it? I even contemplated selling it and buying a new '16 YZ250F to get that planted, predictable front end feel. Instead, I opted to find a cure that didn't Read More »
Rate review: +2 Up Down
Vital MX member ginger969
26158 ginger969 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/26158/avatar/c50_DSC_0085_1482821248.jpg?1482820616 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ginger969,26158/all 02/17/11 4 5 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ginger969,26158/setup 86 607 104 10 2

2017 KTM 350 SX-F

Vital Review

“First Impressions: 2017 KTM 350 SX-F”

C138_s1600_ktm2017_2_of_31
More Motocross Videos KTM's 350 SX-F has been an interesting concept ever since its release. The initial goal, power closer to a 450 but with the characteristics of a 250F. However, the first release seemed closer to a 250F, so KTM went to work all around the bike, but mostly with the powerplant. Now things are a bit different, as the KTM 350 SX-F produces horsepower than nearly rivals its 450 counterparts. While here in the US, the 350 hasn't ever quite caught on with racers in the motocross scene, it has become popular with the weekend warrior crowd, along with the casual and serious off-road racer. So if the 350 produces near 450 Read More »
Rate review: +1 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 356 50 1929 466 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 335 7703 1 495 85 25

Ohlins TTX Flow Shock and RXF 48 Fork

Vital Review

“Tested: Öhlins TTX Flow Shock and RXF 48 Forks”

C138_ohlinsproduct
One set of motorcycle suspension stands out more than any other set on the market, the gold forks and shocks from Öhlins. In Moto GP and multiple forms of motorsport around the world, Öhlins is considered the standard that all others are judged by. However, in motocross it holds a bit more unique place, being compared to other kit-level suspension. With Öhlins releasing their latest moto product, the Flow TTX shock, we snagged a set of their RXF 48 forks and this new shock to put them to the long-term test. Öhlins TTX Flow Shock and RXF-48 Fork Features: Both the forks and shock feature TTX (Twin-Tube Read More »
Rate review: +7 Up Down
Vital MX member ML512
13480 ML512 http://p.vitalmx.com/photos/users/13480/avatar/c50_profile_1424660203.jpg?1424659234 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/all 12/28/08 356 50 1929 466 http://www.vitalmx.com/community/ML512,13480/setup 335 7703 1 495 85 25

Fox Racing V3 Flight Helmet 2015

“Decent Helmet for the Price”

C138_fox_15_hel_v3_fli_ora

The Good:

Purchased the "Image LE" Edition. Color scheme is cool. Ample and plush padding.

The Bad:

Noticeably and measurably larger and heavier, plus a few other annoying attributes in quality of construction (that aren't even matched to the older version)

Overall Review: I own the previous version of the V3 produced in 2009. My size medium measures 28" from jaw-crest-jaw and weighs 1350g. Although there is no MIPS, it is a great helmet with an excellent liner and great fit. I recently purchased a new MIPS V3 on closeout and needless to say I'm a tad disappointed. The new V3 in a medium is both LARGER and HEAVIER than the older version. Come on Fox....a newer model....that's 1" larger and over a 1/2 lb. (1650g) heavier than the older version....and more expensive?! The MIPS is cool, but it squeaks like crazy. The helmet also fits much tighter due to the changed liner and the Read More »
Rate review: 0 Up Down
Vital MX member Blake_C
53340 Blake_C /images/default/avatar/c50.png http://www.vitalmx.com/community/Blake-C,53340/all 07/20/16 1