Riding technique

mxracer591
9/24/2017 6:19pm Edited Date/Time 9/29/2017 10:31am
Hey guys...noob here. Smile had a friend of mine take a few videos of me riding out at our local track. I've been riding off and on for quite awhile but decided this year to try and take it serious. Anyway... without having any formal training I'm just looking for some advice/criticism etc on my technique.

Thanks!.

https://youtu.be/3VUz42WtMyI

|
ktm-5
9/24/2017 6:58pm Edited Date/Time 9/25/2017 1:43am
OK well I've definitely seen a lot worse. First thing is u want your body core center of the bike and in attack mode. Your head and shoulders should be ovet the bars. Your legs should be straight in line up from your footpegs, u don't want your legs forward when going down straight's and jumps. Bend at the hips keep your core center
For corners u want to sit at the apex of each corner, which can be different for each corner depending on berm or ruts or flat. I always taught that when entering a corner first u start rolling on the throttle, then u sit and put your leg out towards the front axle to transfer weight to the front wheel. That's the order to do it in but also at the same time...lol sounds confusing but when u roll on the throttle your bike starts to settle then when u sit u settle the bike more keeping the bike hooked to the ground. Best way to learn this is by doing slow drills.
Also balancing drills are extremely important, that is how u become "one" with your bike. For instance you want to work up to being able to ride one legged and one handed doing figure 8s with complete control. Doing all of this starting out slow and progressing as it gets easier. For instance start by doing one handers or one leggers and increase speed and make it harder as u get used to it.