yz250 stiff clutch pull

Edited Date/Time 3/18/2014 7:52am
So my yz250 clutch has always been pretty difficult to pull. I didn't realize how difficult it really was until I rode someone elses bike, and let some people ride mine. They all complained about how stiff mine was, and there clutches felt like butter compared to mine. Last week I disassembled the clutch and discovered bad grooves on the inner clutch hub, thinking this was my problem I ordered a new one. Put the new one in and my clutch pull is still very stiff. It did solve my bike lurching problem when releasing the clutch, but I really want a better overall clutch pull. Do I need new clutch springs, or are my clutch plates worn out? The original owner of the bike was a trail rider by the way. The clutch plates looked fine to me, but I'm no mechanic.
|
2/4/2014 2:23pm
He probably put stiffer clutch springs in it to prevent it from slipping when he was trail riding.
2/4/2014 2:55pm
Socket946 wrote:
How old is the cable? How often you lube it?
Sorry, I failed to mention that I just recently put a brand new clutch cable on the bike but I have never lubed it. What type of lube should I use and should I remove the clutch cable before I lube it?
2/4/2014 3:09pm
I bought some cable lube at Cycle Gear. I just disconnected one end of the cable and hosed it down. On the other hand, I have the Rekluse auto clutch, so I don't use it that much. Shocked

The Shop

2/4/2014 3:21pm
I bought some cable lube at Cycle Gear. I just disconnected one end of the cable and hosed it down. On the other hand, I have...
I bought some cable lube at Cycle Gear. I just disconnected one end of the cable and hosed it down. On the other hand, I have the Rekluse auto clutch, so I don't use it that much. Shocked
I guess I'll be buying some cable lube then. What brand of clutch springs do you guys think I should buy to make the clutch pull easier?
Cmiller493
2/4/2014 3:50pm