pitting/holes in cyinder wall

Cycle Junky
Edited Date/Time 11/22/2013 10:41am
Hey first timer here, just wondering if anyone could tell me if this is ok to use, or should I have it replated? I just bought the bike recently to resell and don't want to sell it if its going to be a problem in the near future for the buyer. its a yz 125 if that helps. Thanks in advance!
|
Socket946
11/17/2013 6:44pm
I am not an expert.

but I don't see ANYTHING for a cross hatch there, and I think I see what looks to be specs from detonation.
Cycle Junky
11/17/2013 7:13pm

This is about as good a pic I can get without removing the cylinder, but I think it tells a better story. it actually looks worse in the pic than to the naked eye, and now that I can see it that clearly I am guessing it needs plated. Am I right? And what could cause this condition, partial seizure, lean condition or just worn out? Its a 95 with less than 40 hours, i would guess.
Cycle Junky
11/17/2013 7:15pm
I haven't pulled the cylinder yet so I'm not sure if the rings are still completely intact, but the bike ran good and has good compression. Could a bad lower end bearing cause this condition?

The Shop

Griff.747
11/17/2013 7:35pm
I agree with socket. Just looks like detonation marks. I think your good
Cycle Junky
11/17/2013 8:01pm
Ok thanks for the replies, guys. Any other input is appreciated as well. I am in the middle of opening a new cycle restoration co. and I won't sell someone a bike I wouldn't trust myself. Its fairly unnoticeable, at first i thought it may have just been a flaw in the casting/plating So I guess my question to anyone else who might reply: would you run this cylinder?
slipdog
11/17/2013 8:51pm