Thoughts on building a YZ 285 4T killer?

mark_swart
Edited Date/Time 1/1/2015 8:55am
Right now I have an 06 CRF 450, it's a great bike and I've done well on it but I am put off by the cost and frequency of engine maintenance. I've spent the past week working on a friend's YZ 250, and more and more I have to wonder if an 06+ would be a viable way to make a reliable and affordable Vet class race bike, with the right mods.
Have no illusions, this isn't about building a top end rocket, I need it to perform similar to a four stroke. I don't want to fight a massive midrange punch, I want to roll it on through the corners and in the off-cambers. I need it to be forgiving when I screw up and when I get tired. Also part of the equation, my track here is slick and hard pack, so having a bike that can hook up is more important than one that can win a drag race. I'm a 42 year old Vet B rider, 158 lbs, BTW.
What I want:
- Similar to one in the article Jody did in XA, I would want to punch up the power. The 285 kit, a pipe, and reeds seem like a good start.
- Then try to mellow it out (9-12 oz flywheel weight?). Possibly taking a tooth or two off the rear sprocket to try and make the gears pull longer.

Has anyone else gone this route? I plan to ride my buddy's bike this weekend, but it's an 01 and I have no idea how good or bad the suspension might be. I'll try to get some lap times against my 450F just out of curiosity. Is this winter madness that I am even thinking about this?
|
Dragoo168
12/24/2014 10:51am
I would also be interested in hearing what you come up with. As far as comparable lap times, I wouldn't bother right now. I tried that when i had my 450, and the comfort level made for an uneven comparison. When i finally parked the 450, and stricktly rode the RM250, and had re-acclimated to the 2-stroke, my times were actually faster because I had reverted back to a more momentum-based riding style. Anyway, I look forward to hearing about it if you do the 285 set up!