Showa Shock - 2005 RM 250

Teej317
Fantasy
2087th
It's my first time attempting a shock rebuild and I'm learning as I go here. I've been trying to follow my service manual as closely as possible.

I'm trying to disassemble the shock, but I can't remove the damper rod assembly from the shock body. I pushed the seal case down as instructed which revealed the circlip. After removing that, the rod assembly should pull out, right? I'm twisting and pulling it but it's not coming out. Almost seems like there's another circlip stopping it or something. I don't know...am I missing something? Thanks.

|
slipdog
8/22/2016 8:39pm Edited Date/Time 8/22/2016 8:41pm
There's no other clip, try some heat with a torch or heat gun to relax the body a little. Sometimes they're tough, clamp the body in a vice with some soft jaws so you can pull on the clevis with some leverage.

On a side note, why does it look like there is no dust deal on that seal head?
Teej317
Fantasy
2087th
8/22/2016 9:02pm
slipdog wrote:
There's no other clip, try some heat with a torch or heat gun to relax the body a little. Sometimes they're tough, clamp the body in...
There's no other clip, try some heat with a torch or heat gun to relax the body a little. Sometimes they're tough, clamp the body in a vice with some soft jaws so you can pull on the clevis with some leverage.

On a side note, why does it look like there is no dust deal on that seal head?
It's there. It's pushed up against the cap out of view. Thanks for the tip.
stevo450
8/22/2016 9:24pm
They can be hard to remove... Use a large screwdriver through the upper shock bearing and stand on that and tug on the shock clevis...just be careful when it finally releases it'll pop out and spray out oil... So just use a cloth over the opening to capture the oil...

This is how I do it now when I disassemble the shock... Otherwise I get oil everywhere lol
stevo450
8/22/2016 9:25pm
Just remember the valve stack might be causing a vacuum....

The Shop