RK Chains?

Slow450
Edited Date/Time 1/16/2015 10:48pm
I picked up an RK GB520MXZ4 Chain about three months ago and it seems like it has stretched as bad as the stock throw away that I replaced on my KX450F. I've never used an RK chain before, I've probably bought 3-4 each of Renthal R1's and DIDERT gold's over the years and they've all seemed to last pretty well, definitely better than this one. Granted they were all on 125 and 250 two strokes as well as my last two bikes prior to this one were 250Fs. Has anyone else had a similar issue?

I don't know if I'm remembering the grass being greener or perhaps the bigger bike is the issue, but this chain seemed to lose it's gold plating and stretch way faster than other high-end MX chains. I've been stoked on Excel rims in the past, so I don't have it out for the company, just a little disappointed. I'll probably be ordering a Renthal combo from BTO soon. Anyone have any real good luck with chains/sprockets lately? Excluding the steel stuff, my bike is heavy enough as is. Thanks
|
11/27/2011 3:13pm
I dont have much experience with RK chains myself personally however I do know you have to run the chain alittle looser on the KXF's as opposed to other bikes and I know they are bad about wearing out the swing arm slider and chain guide really bad. I also know that 450's are harder on chains & tires compaired to the smaller bore bikes due to the torque they produce. I run DID ERT2 chain on my 450's with great success. We also have a 30% off MSRP sale on all of our Renthal Chains & sprockets currently on our website and FREE shipping on all orders over $100 in the lower 48 states. http://www.privateerconnection.com/productgroups.htm?custom=4
mxb2
11/27/2011 3:27pm
Slow450 wrote:
I picked up an RK GB520MXZ4 Chain about three months ago and it seems like it has stretched as bad as the stock throw away that...