"Another" yz 125 build. my 05 complete

Edited Date/Time 8/21/2014 1:37pm
Picked up an 05 yz 125 last summer for $1200 and have spent countless hours imagining what I could build from it. Reading reviews, researching the best performance and trick products. But also something unique and meaningful. And (in my mind) a piece of artwork. I see these bike builds on here and am often left drooling, jealous of the time and effort put into each build. Well I'm going to "try" and see if I can get some photo's rolling up. The assembly process has begun. Take it easy on me this is my first build. I'm always open to suggestions
Here is what I started with.
|
5/7/2014 4:13pm
As I'm a truck driver, I browse good old craigslist of the areas I know we deliver to, And I found a guy on craigslist parting out an 06 yz 125 in Tulsa OK. So I gave him a call and arranged to get a trip in that direction to pick up all he had left. Mainly for the rear shock. Success. And didn't even use any of my own gas!

The Shop

5/7/2014 5:31pm Edited Date/Time 5/7/2014 7:17pm
The frame and swing arm were stained in that red Oklahoma clay. They said it wouldn't be a problem bead blasting all of that out.
I was given 3 choices in black, Flat black, semi gloss, and gloss. He was trying to persuade me to go with a gloss black but I thought it would be a little too shiny after he showed me some samples. I ended up going with the semi gloss hoping it would show less wear and tear, But not look faded like flat black

5/7/2014 5:31pm Edited Date/Time 5/7/2014 7:10pm

I took the frame to a company in Kansas City Called Liquid & Powdercoat Finishes. They do all the Harley frames for the Harley plant here in Kansas City. He also said that he does a lot of the KTM frames. Says they run about 250 frames a week.
5/7/2014 7:19pm Edited Date/Time 5/7/2014 7:20pm