98 yz125 shift shaft replacement

pmshortt2
Hey guys, I am new to dirt bikes and am learning to work on them. This is my first dirt bike so a lot of stuff has been being replaced but I'm learning a lot in the process so it's no biggie. Anyways my shift lever broke (splines messed up) so I tried to take it off and the bolt broke. So I had to get under there and drill the bolt out. Ended up kind of grazing the shift shaft that comes out of the transmission. I think at least. Either that or the shaft splines were already messed up. With my new shift lever I rode for about 30 minutes last night. I then rode for about 45 minutes tonight and all the sudden couldn't get down into 1st at all. Then pulled it into the garage and see that the lever isn't moving the shaft when I go to downshift to 1st (just the lever moves) so I took the lever off and the splines are messed up looking on one side. Anyways I'm wondering how hard of a job is this. I see I can get a new OEM shift shaft assembly with the other little parts for $80. Is this something that a somewhat mechanically inclined person can do in an hour or 2 or what?
|
Paw Paw
10/23/2016 4:49pm
Yes you can do it, but I would suggest also getting a service manual so you can see how all the parts go together and thus do it correctly the first time. It's not a complicated job, but there are several parts that have to be removed to change the shaft out. You will need clutch side cover gasket, coolant and engine oil at least plus the new shaft.

Paw Paw
pmshortt2
10/23/2016 5:14pm
Paw Paw wrote:
Yes you can do it, but I would suggest also getting a service manual so you can see how all the parts go together and thus...