2011 Yamaha YZ250 Project Build

MxWhite260
Edited Date/Time 4/6/2014 7:12pm
Hello everyone, I'm new to Vital MX... I've always looked through at others posts and read through the site but never bothered to sign up. Until now, I have built my 3rd Yamaha YZ250 2 stroke and this one I think will really shock some people. Again, I'm new here so I don't know how you "vital folks" do this, but I'll show you my build, I don't care to read any smart ass, or disrespectful comments so save that junk for someone else's post.

Day 1: this is what I began with

The bike was pretty good looking. I put a few small parts on it like a pipe and graphics/plastic, but decided it was time to build a full blown race bike.

Day 2: I tore apart the current bike, and used a home-made soda blaster to clean parts

Day 3: I stripped the frame bare and cleaned it up for powder coating

Day 4: Sent my frame, swing arm, and subframe to Kalvin Kauffmann in Ogden, IL for powder coating. He did an excellent job, no runs or blemishes in the finish, also clear coated over the black. Turned out great!

Day 5: I started ordering parts, I made a list and had around $5,000 worth of parts I wanted so it took me a few weeks to get everything I needed to finish the bike.

Day 6: I sent my suspension to Pro-Action of Illinois. I have known Jason Donegan for a long time and knew he'd be the best man for the job. We also decided to have my forks anodized black to really make the frame stand out.
|
MxWhite260
3/17/2014 8:08pm
Day 7: I found a pair of wheels from a friend in Ohio that had a blue warp 9 hub, as well as a pair of oversized spokes and nipples. I went ahead and traded him a Bell Moto 9 helmet for the wheels. Haha.

Day 8: I received my forks and shock back from Pro-Action of Illinois. Jason really took care of me and was a huge help to my build!