The next project '78 YZ400, making progress!

chuckie108
Edited Date/Time 3/27/2018 5:36am
Just about wrapped up on my YZ50 I'm refreshing, and starting my next project this weekend- 1978 YZ400. I'm currently chasing down parts, and need some input from the experienced vintage guys on here as I have no experience with a moto bike from this era, so here goes:

Levers- I want to run quality lever assemblies, I prefer the WC ones on my modern bike. They don't make a matching one for the brake side. What do most guys do? Just run a clutch assembly upside down? Motion Pro universal? Magura?

Brakes- What's generally considered the best performing set of brake shoes? Stock is actually still available per the online parts sources. Also, is arcing worth the money and effort?

Bars- Every back in the day photo I see of '78 YZ's has gigantic bars on it. I know most guys run the Renthal "Vintage/desert" bar, but will these be tall enough for this application? It says on their site they have 2 other vintage bends- what do you all recommend?

Plastic- I've bought a couple products from DC now(God bless them for what they do), But I'm looking for stuff closer to the injection molded OE stuff. Does the fenders and such offered by XtremeYZ look like original products, or is it vacuum formed like DC?

Lastly- what's the best source for a seat cover and foam. There are a few options out there but I don't want to take a guess, who has the best quality?

Thanks!!!!
|
wpark89
1/13/2017 11:35pm
Some guys put a load of money into setting them up really nice. I've been racing a stock 79 YZ 400 the last couple years and I'll give you a few notes on what I've done to it.

RMZ 450 pegs. I had stock RMZ pegs laying around and they bolted right on the YZ. I had to drill a hole on the right side for the spring. There are other options and special made ones available...but I was trying to set the bike up cheap with parts I had laying around.