86/89 cr250 right crank case cover swap question...

Jibrok1
Edited Date/Time 3/16/2015 5:14pm
Once I removed my crank case cover, I noticed the powervalve actuator arm seems to pivot rather easily. Is this normal? I'm not a mechanic, but it seems like there'd be more resistance. Also, when reinstalling the cover, should the arm be flush with the case or outward towards the right? Do I simply align the water pump gear and press the cover back on, or is there something else the needs to be done. Also... When removing th cover, the washer in the photo dropped from someplace. I am assuming it was on the kickstart spindle???

|
DynoDan22
3/9/2015 7:18am
The washer you found does go on the kick start spindle. It slides over the kick shaft and rests against the lick shaft bushing. It is then sandwiched between the clutch cover. I always put a little dab of assembly lube upon assembly to keep it from falling out. The power valve actuator rod should rotate freely without any resistance. This is normal. The easiest way to install the clutch cover is to remove the water pump cover and wiggle the impeller to align the gear mesh. If you aren't replacing the waterpump cover gaskets, you can rock the rear wheel back and forth with the bike in 5th gear to align the gear mesh between the primary gear/waterpump shaft/powervalve governor. Just take it slow and be patient. The powervalve actuator rod assembly is shown in its proper orientation with the lower arm facing forward. I hope this helps.
Jibrok1
3/9/2015 7:43am
That's helps tremdously! Thanks, Dyno!
Jibrok1
3/9/2015 9:34am
Thanks, Barkhard. If in understanding the linked thread, as I'm not doing the top end, I should not have any issues with the HPP system as now.

The Shop

Jibrok1
3/9/2015 5:08pm
DynoDan22 wrote:
The washer you found does go on the kick start spindle. It slides over the kick shaft and rests against the lick shaft bushing. It is...