how many of you switched careers?

How many of you in your lifetime have switched careers. Just up and said fuck it, I can't do this anymore. I have no idea why I even thought I wanted to do this...etc. I thnk i'm to that point. But really don't know what else I want to do. That doesn't help.Woohoo

Anybody out there have a specialized degree and just left it? Once you have a degree its hard to swallow just abandoning it.
|
sleeve1
Fantasy
1966th
10/12/2016 4:46pm
I've been a welder for twenty years off and on. I've left the trade a few times but i always go back to it.
The nice thing about welding is there are different types( Aerospace, Pipe, Structural,ect) and that's what always brings me back to it.
I'm currently on a break from it. My last job got to mundane and i said fuck it but now I'm looking for a new welding job.
Hope this helps.
akillerwombat
10/12/2016 4:59pm Edited Date/Time 10/12/2016 5:04pm
I've been a graphic designer / web developer / marketing consultant for about 15ish years and a couple of years ago I left all of that behind to migrate into the film world. Started working at the bottom of the chain as a PA and have been working my way up the latter ever since. It's not as huge of a change as going from an electrician to a playwright or anything being that they're both visual based but it's been a pretty big learning experience and extremely rewarding.

I still dip back into the design / web world from time to time as it's hard to leave it completely behind (I still love designing) but I was getting pretty depressed dealing with shitty clients and feeling like I'd never break out and do what I'm really passionate about. Funny enough, I stepped back into the design / web world and redid the vitalmedianet.com site a couple months ago.
Uncle Tony
10/12/2016 5:05pm