Auto CAD

Calhoun117
Edited Date/Time 8/21/2015 5:31pm
Too make a long story short I'm unemployed after working in a machine shop at a papermill for 4 years, the only reason I worked there in the first place was because my then girlfriend didn't want to move out of town to where the office was I was drafting at. I worked as a draftsman professionally for 3 years before the mill, and have an associates degree, and high school cert to go with it. At the firm I was at we did all civil work, coal mines took up 96% of the billing. We used Carlson civil 3D which is just a package based off regular autocad civil 3d. Throughout all my experience I've used 2005-2010 packages. I'm looking to get back into drafting and am just curious if any of the newer packages are so much different that I would need to take any kind of refresher course on them. I'm marketing myself as experienced and would rather not have a gigantic shock of entirely new software of they are running any of the late model softwares. I'm sure this isn't the case but if anyone is familiar with the newest say, past two-three years of cad packages are there any big changes?
|
MR. X
8/14/2015 8:03pm
All you can do is put the feelers out , let them know where you are at and where you are looking to go , you may just find a place that will send you to school on their dime if they think you will be a good fit and need a refresher . Good luck on your search.
SEEMEFIRST
8/14/2015 9:52pm
I wouldn't worry too much about any huge surprises. Most programs I've dealt with make upgrades that are easily learned, they don't start from scratch.

I went through about 5 iterations of "Master Cam" and only once was there so much change they sent us to a one day course, and Master Cam covered that for us upgrading .
MR. X
8/15/2015 3:49am
SEEMEFIRST wrote:
I wouldn't worry too much about any huge surprises. Most programs I've dealt with make upgrades that are easily learned, they don't start from scratch. I...