how do i get my parents to let me me buy a two stroke.

norman151
9/20/2014 7:52pm Edited Date/Time 11/23/2014 10:56pm
Recently i have become very interested in motocross, i have been riding dirtbike's since i was five years old. within the last year i have become much more serious about my riding and would really like to get into racing. My only problem is i only have low cc four strokes that have very low power and slow acceleration. The main reason that my parents don't want to let me get a 2-stroke is because they think that i just want it for the extra speed that it can produce. When i have watched races i have noticed that almost everyone has a two stroke, unless they have a very high cc bike. Therefore i'm afraid to Race with a 4 because of how long it takes to accel and just plain it cant keep up with other bikes. I am currently in the proccess of saving money to buy the bike but i need my parents approvel of the bike first. i would like to get a kx or sx 125, but dint now how to convince my parent to let me get it.
|
NHtoWA421
9/21/2014 10:41am
That's a tough question. I think a good first step would be for you, and your parents to explain to them that this is what you want to do for fun in your free time, then make a a trip out to watch a local race, and show them the racing, and the types of bikes that people are riding. This will give them, and yourself an honest to goodness look at the machinery, and the machinery in action. Who knows, you may even spot a used kx or sx for sale there at a good price Smile
NHtoWA421
9/21/2014 10:49am
FAIR WARNING: It was a lot harder for my parents to get behind the idea of me racing than it was for them to let me get my first "race bike"... Now 15 years since that first rm80, I still don't think they fully understand it...I think they gave up.
9/21/2014 6:11pm
Show them your dead serious about it. Be responsible, say yes sir to your dad and yes mam to your mom when they speak too you.