Tight budget- young

mmadd351
Hey vital,

I just joined on here and I already have a question to ask you. I'm young and absolutely love the sport of motocross. I have been riding for maybe 7 years now. I have a KX100 and am selling it to move up to big bikes. My parent's are making me pay for it, though. So, I need to figure out what kind of bike I'm going to buy for just a few months. I have a $1900 budget. I need the bike to last me about 4 months, then I can take out a loan and buy a new bike. But for right now, I need to just get on the track ASAP. I have seen old KX250 2strokes, as well as old 250f's. I plan on investing in a 2013 or newer YZ or KX 250f when I am able to get the loan. So what bike should I buy to last me these four months? Should I go with the 2 smoker, and then transition to the 4 stroke before the racing season? Or, should I get maybe a 2004 250f and then buy a newer 250f when I am ready. I appreciate it guys, thanks.
|
colintrax
Fantasy
2363rd
8/7/2016 11:07pm
A loan is a terrible idea if you're so young you're just coming off a supermini. Do not, and I repeat DO NOT get a loan. I'm suprised your parents are even gonna let you.

You're not racing to make a living, so get an older 2 stroke and hang onto that until you graduate high school or somehow come into a lot of money. Any brand 125 2000 or newer will be just fine. However it's advisable to skip on the Honda because it's slow. The Yamaha is usually considered the best 125 as far as old bikes go.
mmadd351
8/8/2016 8:59am
colintrax wrote:
A loan is a terrible idea if you're so young you're just coming off a supermini. Do not, and I repeat DO NOT get a loan...
A loan is a terrible idea if you're so young you're just coming off a supermini. Do not, and I repeat DO NOT get a loan. I'm suprised your parents are even gonna let you.