How do I get myself into Motocross racing?

BradenZ71
So I'm 19 and live in Spokane, WA. Here we have the Airway Height's "Airway X" motocross track. For years and years now I've seen my friends start racing and talking about how much they enjoy it. I started riding when I was 8 and have never stopped since. I've been to the track once when I had my CRF 80 back in the day, but it was just putting around the track during an open ride day. I've always been a dominant trail rider, but have always dreamed of getting into racing. To be honest I have no idea where to even begin, so that's why I'm on here asking the community for some help. Currently I have an 2004 Honda CRF 250X that I saved up for over a course of 6 months which I purchased in late March of 2016. When I was searching for bikes they're were many 250R's available, but for some reason I went straight for another trail bike. So basically my main question is how old of a race bike can I buy to begin racing. Im curious if a 2006-2008 Honda CRF 250R would be good one to start off with.What I would like to do is throw my 250X on craigslist, either sell it or see if someone wants to trade for a 250R. I have basically everything I need except for a bike. Full gear, truck to haul the bike, and a race track not even 30 minutes from my home. I know you can register for racing online through the track by me but have no idea how the class system works. Just would really like some guidance here on truly how to begin in this sport. Any information towards anything would be extremely appreciated!

Thanks!
Braden
|
8/23/2016 5:22am
I looked at your local tracks sign up sheet. You would want to sign up for 125cc-250Fcc D(beg) class for your first time racing. That is your beginner class up there.