making a track viable again

white devil
Edited Date/Time 10/26/2013 8:16am
A local track is closing(rumor but likely true) and I hate to see it go down. Back in its hayday in the 80's it was always packed. Now it is poorly attended and the current promotor is not popular with most of the hardcore riders in the area. My question is can a local track be more than a tax write off for the promoter and can it have a decent cash flow? What do succsessful tracks have in common.? I have no background in running a track so I dont even know what I dont know! my thinking is to focus on the young kids with a seperate mini track
|
Bytor
10/24/2013 12:07pm Edited Date/Time 10/24/2013 12:09pm
Tough time to be a track owner. I hope someday MX will be as popular as it has been in the past with 500 entry race days but not sure if well every get back to the glory days with 8k dollar bikes and 3.50 gasoline.
rbm33
Fantasy
1901st
10/24/2013 12:15pm
thats a tough question that cant really be answered by just the internal functions of the facility. the local economics, the geographic location, the number of local dealers, other areas to ride nearby...... all those factors play a huge part in the success of a track, probably more so than the offerings and operations or the track itself.
Mike Sweeney
10/24/2013 12:16pm
I think it can but the owner would need to think outside the box and generate revenue via things other than raceday. (paid memberships, open for practice, etc...) Also, if I were an owner I would look into hosting things like Warrior Dash races, things like that which are hugely popular right now.
Presley155
10/24/2013 12:20pm