Why air forks but not air shock ?

sumdood
Fantasy
1282nd
Edited Date/Time 6/3/2016 1:24pm
If air forks are here to stay, how come no ones developed an air shock ?
|
bobby397
6/3/2016 1:49am
Think KTM and WP came up with one and it failed with Dungey at an sx race in 2015 or 2014. Believe Andrew Short ran it as well. Must not had been able to get it to preform correctly been I have heard much of it since the failure
Fearo
6/3/2016 3:13am Edited Date/Time 6/3/2016 3:17am
Andrew Short is still running it I believe.

I would think the main reason would be cost. Because unlike what most people believe, one of the main reasons for pushing air forks (other than weight savings), is the reduced cost of manufacturing them (less parts). Not that the consumer would notice this in the msrp...

I'm no expert on air shocks but I don't think that same logic would work, I think it would actually be more expensive to manufacture than a regular shock. I have read a few times that KTM intends to sell its air shock as an SXS part in the future though.
ML512
Fantasy
45th
6/3/2016 5:28am
sumdood wrote:
Andrew Short has been running it for two seasons now and is still running it... Davi Millsaps also had it during Supercross. WP is continuing development on it.
Markee
Fantasy
1890th
6/3/2016 5:36am
I would assume the air shock would be the greater weight savings too. Which leads me to the question, how does andrews bike meet weight? The bike is already near the limit at 221.8 Lbs.

Are they weighed with fluids?

The Shop

Bramlett321
6/3/2016 5:46am
Per Keefer I believe the air shock is to be phased out!!! He mentioned that on one of the podcasts with Matthes
6/3/2016 5:50am Edited Date/Time 6/3/2016 5:52am
bobby397 wrote:
Think KTM and WP came up with one and it failed with Dungey at an sx race in 2015 or 2014. Believe Andrew Short ran it...