Who is the most influential MX rider in motocross history?

tbanks
Edited Date/Time 1/27/2012 11:51am
Since we are now in the offseason and can look back over things I would like to hear ya'lls take on who radically changed the sport of MX.

I am fairly new to the sport (I've been following/racing since 2004), but IMO the most influential icons and riders of our sport have been:

Jeremy McGrath-basically put SX into the American Spotlight.

Travis Pastrana-his goal of pleasing fans is unprecedented.

Ricky Carmichael- He IS the most successful and dominant rider ever.

James Stewart- radically changed how you ride a dirt bike.

These are more of the recent icons of the sport, but thinking back I know Everts, Decoster, Hannah, Henry, Bailey and others were essential to influencing the sport to where it is today.

So which one rider was the most influential in MX history?
|
FastEddy
Fantasy
890th
9/30/2011 11:25am
I think world wide... Pastrana is the biggest name out of all of those guys.
stangkag
9/30/2011 11:35am
J-Law haha just kidding, I had to do it tho
MXMattii
9/30/2011 11:37am
Roger De Coster ... He is one of the biggest names in the sport on both sides of the pond!
kwhite199
9/30/2011 11:41am
MXMattii wrote:
Roger De Coster ... He is one of the biggest names in the sport on both sides of the pond!
x2

I don't think American motocross would be where it is today without 'the man'. He made a huge difference to motocross in those early days and continues to place his stamp on the scene today.

The Shop

stangkag
9/30/2011 11:45am
MXMattii wrote:
kwhite199 wrote:
x2 I don't think American motocross would be where it is today without 'the man'. He made a huge difference to motocross in those early days...
x2

I don't think American motocross would be where it is today without 'the man'. He made a huge difference to motocross in those early days and continues to place his stamp on the scene today.
Indeed
scott_nz
Fantasy
655th
9/30/2011 11:46am