Truck tailgate trick with bikes loaded in back

casper
Edited Date/Time 8/30/2015 4:56pm
My tailgate wont close with both bikes in the back and I've seen people use straps to hold it semi-closed but has anyone used the tailgate latches to hold up the tailgate? I always thought that some company should make shortened straps for this purpose but I just figured I would try this. The only thing I'm concerned about is the strap on the tailgate is resting on it's stop and it's at an angle. Besides that, I think it should be fine? The bikes rear tires have about 1/2 inch of clearance and are not resting on the tailgate(one is a 250 and the other a 450), so the only pressure on the straps is the weight of the tailgate itself.

|
CarlinoJoeVideo
Fantasy
2339th
8/28/2015 9:26am
Yeah that method works well. Eventually the cables start fraying which sucks when they poke your fingers. But i've been running that for a few years now and no major issues...

When will someone come up with the tilting reverse camera so you can still use it in that position!?!
Motoxdoc
8/28/2015 9:29am
readyramp.com,,,,I've got one and they are awesome!!!
2slow4u
8/28/2015 9:39am
get a Gator Gate, the net tailgates, awesome for when you go ride and they're cheap as hell. Or just get a bed extender but they're not so cheap.

The Shop

imoto34
Fantasy
3174th
8/28/2015 9:43am
I have a short wheel base truck that we use alot. Most of the time its two bikes but sometimes three. With gear fuel food tents and a little grille. I use two traps each bike unless there is three and that bike is tied to the outer two. I have never had a anything fall out cause of a tailgate being down.
8/28/2015 9:43am
Are your bikes front wheels angled into the corners of the truck bed ? If they're not the tailgate will probably close if you load that way.
Moto Mofo
8/28/2015 9:44am
Disconnect the upper end of the cable, run a tiedown from it to the footpeg. Lift tailgate as far as it'll go, then tighten tiedown. Voila!
peelout