Suspension review-TBT Arizona 2015 KX450

Titan1
Edited Date/Time 10/6/2016 1:34pm
TL/DR (you're welcome Smile )...TBT Arizona made the suspension on my KX450 much much much better, and exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend them.

So I purchased a 2015 KX450 last year...with it being my first time on air forks, I wanted to put some hours on them before I had them revalved.

For a frame of reference, I'm a Vet A rider off-road (mostly desert-hare and hounds and hare scrambles-and enduro's thrown in there...no moto, to speak of...though the occasional GP will run a moto track).

And to be honest I REALLY like the stock valving. They really worked good (which is saying a lot for moto valving in an off road setting). Going in I was VERY nervous, and I almost bought another Yamaha just to avoid the air forks...not because of their performance but because they were high maintenance, and I worried about blowing a seal in a 3 hour race.

I found those fears to be unfounded...most of the people that claim they were high maintenance were adjusting air pressures to suit track conditions and constantly messing with the pressures. This is dumb...the air replaces the spring...there is one setting that works for your weight, just like there is one spring rate in a spring fork that that works for your weight...once you find that setting, leave the pressure alone and use the clickers to make adjustments for track conditions (people don't change their spring rates to suit the track conditions, so I couldn't figure out why they were changing the air pressure to suit track conditions?)...anyway...Air pressure settings aren't clickers and shouldn't used that way.

I set the air pressure settings for my recommended weight, and I checked them, maybe once a month or so...not high maintenance.

People also said that the pressure moves a lot during the day...and maybe it does...but I never messed with it, and I honestly could never tell a difference.