RMZ suspension set up

pacetruckdrvr
Edited Date/Time 4/14/2015 8:45am
I already posted in race shop but no help so far so I thought I would try here.
I just switched from a RM 250 to a 2009 RMZ 450 and so far I am really impressed, I am not finding any negatives other than it is harder to start, but finding lots of pluses. I am looking for a bit of suspension set up tips as I am a novice at suspension settings, in the past I have just run my bikes the way they are and gotten used to it, but now riding this bike I realize it is better than what I have had in the past and would like to fine tune it a bit. I find the forks a bit harsh and the rear a bit harsh on braking bumps and acceleration bumps out of ruts. I understand the concept of compression and rebound but any tips would be helpful. Someone told me once that if you change one a couple clicks you need to do the same with the other?? Then I have also been told that's not the case?
Anyhow thanks in advance.
|
Cygnus
4/14/2015 6:10am
Best thing to do is get a note pad and start with the stock settings. Then as you change the clickers write down what you noticed was better or worse and the go a click or two at a time till you find the perfect settings for you. If you get lost you can always go back to the stock settings and start over.
oldrider
4/14/2015 6:13am
Hello, I did the same 2 months ago, sold the rmz250 2015 and purchased the rmz450 2015; I like it much better. I'm vet, 185lbs, mostly riding on hardpack and the best setting I have for this kind of terrain my riding style and my weight is:

pressure top: 170-5
pressure bottom: 180

Reb 20
Comp 15

Reb 16
Comp 17

hillbilly
4/14/2015 7:27am
I already posted in race shop but no help so far so I thought I would try here. I just switched from a RM 250 to...