Question for a lawyer regarding Racers as Independent Contractors

EddieC
Every since my first steps into the MX industry I have been told that Racers are Independent Contractors. As a business owner myself I have looked into hiring Independent Contractors and the rules are very specific to what is and is not considered and Independent Contractor.

Do these rules also apply to Professional Athletes/Racers?

Two scenarios
1. When I first started in this industry a TM for a factory team was looking to hire me on as the Team Athletic Trainer/Strength Coach. The TM has set aside the money and things where looking good until the Owner stepped in and said it was a NOGO because the riders being Independent Contractors could not be told by the team how to train, when to train or be who to see for evaluation and treatment of injuries.

2. Fast forward 15 years and now you have a situation where you have riders A&B training with a Trainer and both riders get picked up by a factory teams. Riders are told that the team has a TEAM TRAINER/RIDING COACH and that they the riders MUST pay for a portion of the Trainers/Riding Coaches salary and PAY BONUSES to said Trainer/Riding Coach. Both riders for monetary reasons can't afford to pay two trainers so they terminate their deal with current Trainer to pay for Team Trainer/Riding Coach.

I can understand if the team has the Trainer/Riding Coach on salary such as with most major athletic teams having Strength and Conditioning and Sport Medicine staff.

I know of a rider who rode for a factory team that was told he needed to pay a portion of the Team Trainers salary. The riders portion was half of his salary.

I am sure teams use the Independent Contractor status to avoid having to pay the additional costs associated with hiring employees.
Having worked with MLB players if they get injured they can go on Work Comp to pay for therapy which sounds crazy.

Not looking for legal advise just thoughts on the matter.

|
CarlinoJoeVideo