Pro's and Health Insurance?

Xracer
1/23/2016 8:20am Edited Date/Time 1/24/2016 11:34pm
The early rash of injuries this year (and every year I suppose) got me thinking; How are pro, non-privateer riders insured? Is it baked into their employment deal like you and I? Do they have their own self-funded policies? It's obviously in the best interest of their employers that they have and maintain top-notch insurance, right? I don't know why I care...just curious I guess. I pay a premium for insurance because my Wife takes anti-anxiety meds. I can't imagine what it would cost to say "I'm a pro supercross racer almost guaranteed to rack up a laundry list of injuries over the next 9 or 10 years, and I need a quote for health insurance"

|
CarlinoJoeVideo
Fantasy
2298th
1/23/2016 8:48am
I believe all the riders are contractors and health insurance is on them. It's a tax right off. I wouldn't be surprised if they also had disability insurance to cover their salary if they get hurt.
ML512
Fantasy
36th
1/23/2016 8:53am
Xracer wrote:
The early rash of injuries this year (and every year I suppose) got me thinking; How are pro, non-privateer riders insured? Is it baked into their...
The early rash of injuries this year (and every year I suppose) got me thinking; How are pro, non-privateer riders insured? Is it baked into their employment deal like you and I? Do they have their own self-funded policies? It's obviously in the best interest of their employers that they have and maintain top-notch insurance, right? I don't know why I care...just curious I guess. I pay a premium for insurance because my Wife takes anti-anxiety meds. I can't imagine what it would cost to say "I'm a pro supercross racer almost guaranteed to rack up a laundry list of injuries over the next 9 or 10 years, and I need a quote for health insurance"

Riders are all contractors and responsible for their own health insurance.
mxb2
1/23/2016 8:59am Edited Date/Time 1/23/2016 8:59am