Observation on used bike prices

Edited Date/Time 8/2/2014 3:55pm
Hi, my name is Blake; and I'm a Craigslist-aholic. (Vitards respond in unison: "Hiii, Blake")

I've been checking Craigslist multiple times per day for a few years now (which is probably why I have more bikes than I do fingers and toes). Lately I've noticed that my bikes like mine (2006 KTM 250SXF bought 4 years ago for $2,900) are retaining their value pretty well. Said another way; I could sell my bike after 4 years of enjoyment and not lose much money. Also, when I say "bikes like mine", I mean 4 strokes from just before the EFI era.

Now that brand new motocross bikes are being sold in upwards of $9,000 I believe that used bikes aren't depreciating as fast as they once did.

Thoughts?
|
FlickitFlat
Fantasy
644th
8/2/2014 3:12pm
I view it as they are depreciating just as much and just as fast. They just have twice the distance to go. It used to be you could buy a ragged out turd for $1200. Keep a bike to long and you know you could at least get $1200 out of it. Now it seems that is closer to $2200. If you take that logic, the distance from $8 or 9 G to $2200 is more than 5G to $1200. They are depreciating more and faster.
TbonesPop
Fantasy
321st
8/2/2014 3:37pm