Ktm or YZ 250?

jk367
Edited Date/Time 4/17/2015 1:47pm
Hi guys I'm brand new to vital so I'm sorry if this is the millionth time this has been asked. In your opinion what new two stroke is better and why. I'm having trouble deciding
|
liamjumper
4/16/2015 12:43pm Edited Date/Time 4/16/2015 12:43pm
The YZ's have been the same bike since early 2000s. The KTM's have actually been using new technology on their 2 strokes. If you're going to buy a Yamaha, you might as well buy one thats 10 years old and spend a fraction of money on the same bike. If you're going to fork out the money to buy a new one, go with the KTM.
mxpappy711
4/16/2015 12:54pm Edited Date/Time 4/16/2015 12:56pm
Jumper is correct. My son has 09 yz250, I have 12 SX 250. If you could ride them both blindfolded, I don't think you could tell them apart tho. Yz fork is better than my KTM (at least imo). Other than that, they are similiar I think the ktm is a copy of the yz. Can't go wrong with either but don't go older than 07 I think on YZ for best fork. I think it is called SSS, speed sensitive something or other. wouldn't go older than 09 on the ktm.

The Shop

ledger
4/16/2015 12:59pm
liamjumper wrote:
The YZ's have been the same bike since early 2000s. The KTM's have actually been using new technology on their 2 strokes. If you're going to...
The YZ's have been the same bike since early 2000s. The KTM's have actually been using new technology on their 2 strokes. If you're going to buy a Yamaha, you might as well buy one thats 10 years old and spend a fraction of money on the same bike. If you're going to fork out the money to buy a new one, go with the KTM.
I agree with this, I would give the KTM a shot. There is no shortage of YZ's if you don't click with the KTM.
liamjumper
4/16/2015 1:00pm
mxpappy711 wrote:
Jumper is correct. My son has 09 yz250, I have 12 SX 250. If you could ride them both blindfolded, I don't think you could tell...