J Marts Yamaha

5/29/2015 3:32pm
Dtat720 wrote:
There are several 15 yamis local to me, both stock and modified and Johnny Moores is highly modified. Nobody has the problems described in that thread...
There are several 15 yamis local to me, both stock and modified and Johnny Moores is highly modified. Nobody has the problems described in that thread. Really strange that some have major gremlins and some are peachy.
I have a 14 with no problems whatsoever.
5/29/2015 3:42pm Edited Date/Time 5/29/2015 3:43pm
(This is just my armchair opinion, I'm not an electrical engineer )

Considering how complex and how far the tech as come today, the varying conditions the tech must withstand, and factoring in the use of brand new tech we don't about that the factory guys might occasionally be using, I'm surprised we haven't more seen electrical hiccups than we already have in the pro scene.

Electrical problems can happen when the bike is theoretically 100% built correctly (perfect tolerances on every part, perfect torquing, perfect wheel truing, perfect wiring,) but you can't control electronics the way you can a physical part. That is why it seems totally random, because it is ! To try and explain the kind of random behavior requires diving into quantum physics, but its easier to just say that electricity doesn't play by the same rules we think it plays by and that sometimes in racing, shit happens.

I don't think KTM/Dungey nor Yamaha/Jmart is worried about it happening again. If it does, then it does and maybe they'll take a more aggressive approach to finding a solution, but unless the engineers know for sure the direct cause of it, it's just another electrical gremlin and their guess is as good as ours.

5/29/2015 4:40pm
Dtat720 wrote:
There are several 15 yamis local to me, both stock and modified and Johnny Moores is highly modified. Nobody has the problems described in that thread...