I wonder if James will just get a warning? MLB does.....

rcm406
7/23/2014 1:44pm Edited Date/Time 7/24/2014 10:22am
give warnings for first time positive test for amphetamines? Is this MLB penalty rule or USADA's?

This was from USA today:

San Diego Padres center fielder Cameron Maybin became the first major-league player to be suspended for performance-enhancing drug use this season Wednesday when he tested positive for amphetamines.

Maybin, who already had tested positive once and received a warning, received a 25-game suspension without pay for testing positive a second time. Players who test positive for amphetamines are automatically given warnings the first time, and are subjected to subsequent testing and an automatic suspension if caught a second time.

"I have been undergoing treatment for several years for a medical condition, attention deficit disorder (ADD), for which I previously had a therapeutic use exemption (TUE),'' Maybin said in a prepared statement. "Unfortunately, in my attempts to switch back to a medicine that had been previously OK'd, I neglected to follow all the rules and as a result I tested positive.

|
hvaughn88
7/23/2014 2:05pm
rcm406 wrote:
give warnings for first time positive test for amphetamines? Is this MLB penalty rule or USADA's? This was from USA today: San Diego Padres center fielder...
give warnings for first time positive test for amphetamines? Is this MLB penalty rule or USADA's?

This was from USA today:

San Diego Padres center fielder Cameron Maybin became the first major-league player to be suspended for performance-enhancing drug use this season Wednesday when he tested positive for amphetamines.