I almost did the wheelchair thing 7 days ago but didn't. Do I ride again?

Suns_PSD
Edited Date/Time 1/27/2012 2:49pm
Basically I was injured a tremendous amount during my 20's roadracing motorcycles at an expert level. When I realized that I couldn't take it any more I switched to MX at the ripe old age of 33 (about 6 years ago) as a complete novice so as not to experience the same amount of injury. It worked! I broke my foot once MXing but otherwise I stayed healthy for years riding MX and I improved dramatically and really developed a deep passion for the sport riding often. Spending lots of money, time, and energy on the sport because it brings me a tremendous amount of satisfaction.

My speed and comfort on the MX bikes is so very good these days and I've been happy w/ my riding this year. To borrow from an old Suzuki advert, my KTM and I realy feel like one moving part. I rarely fall as well and when I do it's just a little rut or something.

Until this past Sunday when I got off pretty hard and broke my back. My legs temporarily went all tingly and that really is my greatest fear, way beyond simply dying. I spent a few days in the hospital and even became tremendously ill while in the hospital but now I'm back home and I feel better practically by the hour. In fact the doctors say I should have no long lasting pain or damage from this injury. Everything is lined up in my back and the discs etc were not damaged in any way. There is a bone spur now resting against my spinal cord, likely permanently, but it should be harmless.

I had agreed before this accident to my family, significant other, and to myself that if I was ever seriously injured again that I would retire from motorcycles permanently; and I really meant it as my body just can't stand any more abuse and I want to enjoy my old age. Then again I feel riding helps keep me 39 years young.