Had an idea for notifying lapped riders.

Hank_Thrill
Edited Date/Time 1/24/2012 6:07pm
It would be expensive, and I doubt something like this would happen, unless the right people were pushing it. The idea would take a lot of convincing, but I think it could for the most part solve the lapped rider problem once and for all. I figure if the AMA can spend money putting electronic lap time devices on the bikes, than they can do this.

The idea: Attach some kind of small radio frequency device into the ear pocket/cavity of the riders helmets. Instead of only having flaggers wave blue flags, have some people in a tower that can sound some sort of alarm, buzz, pitch, noise, etc. that would notify the riders they are being lapped. I only imagine this being used when leaders battling for position are coming through like the blue flags now.

I figure some of these lappers are in the zone and just don't see the blue flag for whatever reason. I think the main problem (keep in mind I'm not a professional motocross rider who deals with being lapped), is that the lapped riders obviously don't know if its a leader coming from behind, or a fellow competitor battling for position. Since riders obviously can't run rear view mirrors, or have the need for a a set of goggles on the back of their helmets, this type of alarm system would notify the rider they are being lapped. To get even more technical with the idea. The AMA could establish a standard distant limit, like say, sound the alarm when the leaders are 40 feet behind, etc. Or even have two radio signals inside the helmet, and signal which side the leaders are passing on.

Just a thought... Of course they would need to do testing on different sounds. You obviously would want something that is detectable, as well as something that won't give the riders a migraine on the track.

|
ridge
3/14/2010 12:45am
LOL
Cory976
3/14/2010 1:02am