Fear

4/22/2017 11:23am Edited Date/Time 4/22/2017 10:22pm
I have been riding for about 4 years now and I have been to a lot of different tracks trying to improve. 2 years ago I was at a track practice and got landed on. I ended up having a compression fracture in my back and I couldn't ride for 7 seven months. When I got back on the bike I was pretty rusty but after a couple months I started getting better and improving quite a bit, hitting new jumps and getting faster through the corners. Then about a year ago I crashed pretty hard and ever since then I have just been very timid on the bike. I am afraid of getting landed on again and am afraid of pretty much every aspect of riding. I enjoy riding with my buddies but I'm just getting frustrated because I'm not improving at all. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
|
4/22/2017 11:29am
Your fear is legitimate, this is a dangerous sport.

You're going to have to make peace with this fact, or continue to ride in fear.

You'll have to find the switch in your brain, and turn that thing off.
4/22/2017 11:32am
Nothing anyone can say about the fear factor and we all kid ourselves that it will never happen to us.

As for improving, go out with no expectations and just enjoy being on the bike, expectations take away the fun fast and will probably hinder your improvement by making you ride tight.
BobbyM
4/22/2017 11:34am
I have been riding for about 4 years now and I have been to a lot of different tracks trying to improve. 2 years ago I...