Doug Henry at 1995 Budds Creek: Did you see the crash?

Brett Smith
Fantasy
4015th
Edited Date/Time 1/30/2015 12:48pm
Hi all,

I'm looking to speak with fans who were at Budds Creek in June 1995, the day Doug Henry gave "Henry Hill" its namesake. I'm a writer working on a piece that will be released this spring and I'd like to interview some fans who witnessed it or the aftermath.

And if you were one of the half a dozen fans who actually leaped over the fence to come to Doug's aid while he slowly writhed on the ground then I really want to speak with you. I've been looking at the raw video of the incident, the stuff you can't find on YouTube, and saw that several spectators beat the EMTs to Doug's side.

And even if you know someone who was there, etc. etc. reach out to me at the e-mail or Instagram account below.

Thanks,

Brett Smith
bresmith@mac.com
Instagram: @wewentfast
|
1/29/2015 11:30am
I was there. I was on the topside (where he didn't land). All I heard was the largest one-time crowd sound I have ever heard at Budds, before or since. I would not have much to add beyond that.
I was also there a few seasons later when he crashed on Big Gulp and broke both wrists. I was at the bottom of the hill.
Motoxdoc
1/29/2015 12:24pm Edited Date/Time 1/29/2015 12:32pm
I don't know if this is of any help but I met a chiropractor in Carlsbad CA. named Brian Austin that said he was the guy getting lapped by Doug when that happened. He said something to the effect of seeing Doug fly over his head and explode upon impact and then McGrath ride by. He said you can see him in the footage. I haven't looked at the footie since he told me that story but I did see some results of him for some Nationals and SX's from back in that era in the vault. Nice guy....and I believe him. You can find him on facebook.

I just looked at the footage and I believe that's Brian.....the closest guy to Doug when that happened!
mxrose3
Fantasy
1046th